Atelier Identity

Atelier Identity

Group Exhibition
Creator: Moshtari Hilal. All rights reserved.

Cultural identities and identity groups are components of social coexistence; they are meant to constantly evolve. They dissolve over time, can be reproduced, and be created anew. They are shaped by different lifestyles, experiences and stories. Only one thing is certain: identities are not stable. They change during the course of a lifetime, and sometimes during the course of one single experience. Consequently, cultural identities reveal—through relevance in both modern and postmodern contexts--the importance and benefits of development and support for intercultural social relations.

Heinrich-Böll-Foundation asked three female illustrators to take an artistic approach to the concept of cultural identity based on their own lifestories.

We would like to invite you to the opening of the Group Show „Atelier Identity“ on Friday, May 26th at 6pm. We'd like to create a discussion space for each of the artists’ responses to IDENTITY. The author Senthuran Varatharajah has been invited to provide a political commentary. Come, bring your questions, and let's celebrate Diversity!

Artists:

Since completing her Architectural Studies degree in Switzerland, Bibizizi has been working as a storyteller and illustrator in Lausanne. With a critical approach to Stereotyping, Bibizizi’s main focus is geographic socialization. Born in Istanbul and raised in Moscow, Tehran and Geneve, she currently resides and works as an artist in Lausanne.

The Hamburg artist and illustrator Moshtari Hilal focuses on gender and identity in the context of political othering as well as beauty ideals. Hilal uses her own subjectivity as the main source of inspiration for decoding mainstream imaginations of beauty and rejecting the universality of the eurocentric ideal.

Tasnim Baghdadi lives and works in Münster. She experiments with traditional visual art and contemporary media.  Her main source of inspiration is cultural history.  She understands art to be a multidisciplinary interaction of many factors, which she ultimately uses to reclaim her „hybrid identity“ as a Muslim artist.

 

Contact:
Zoha Aghamehdi
Gunda-Werner-Institut
E aghamehdi@boell.de

Atelier Identity

Atelier Identity

Group Exhibition
Creator: Moshtari Hilal. All rights reserved.

Kulturelle Identitäten und Identitäts-Gruppierungen als Bausteine des sozialen Zusammenlebens sind einem ständigen Wandel unterworfen. Sie lösen sich im Zeitverlauf auf, werden reproduziert, bilden sich neu heraus. Sie sind geprägt von Lebenswegen, von Erfahrungen, von Geschichten. Nur eines ist sicher; dass Identitäten nicht sicher sind. Sie verändern sich im Verlauf unseres Lebens – und manchmal im Verlauf einer einzigen Erfahrung. Entsprechend wandelt auch das Konzept der kulturellen Identität in der Moderne und Postmoderne seine Formen und wird globaler.

Die Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung hat drei Illustratorinnen gebeten, sich künstlerisch mit ihren von persönlichen Erfahrungen beeinflussten kulturellen Identitäten auseinanderzusetzen.

Am 26. Mai um 18 Uhr laden wir Sie und euch herzlich zur Vernissage der Gruppenausstellung ein. Gemeinsam wollen wir über die illustrierten Antworten, die die drei Frauen gefunden haben, diskutieren. Der Schriftsteller Senthuran Varatharajah gibt einen politischen Kommentar zur Identität. Bringt Interesse und Fragen mit und lass uns gemeinsam die Vielfalt feiern.

Im Anschluss an die Eröffnung bleibt Zeit für weitere Gespräche bei Apfelsaft, Bier und Brezeln. Still wird es dabei auch nicht - ganz im Gegenteil: Maura Souloud wird uns für den Rest des Abends musikalisch begleiten.

Künstlerinnen:

Seit Abschluss ihres Architekturstudiums arbeitet Bibizizi als Illustratorin und freie Autorin. In ihren Arbeiten beschäftigt sie sich mit räumlicher und geografischer Sozialisierung und setzt sich kritisch mit Prozessen der Stereotypisierung auseinander. Geboren in Istanbul und aufgewachsen Moskau, Teheran und Genf lebt die Künstlerin in Lausanne.

Die Künstlerin und Illustratorin aus Hamburg beschäftigt sich in ihren Arbeiten mit Geschlecht und Identität im Kontext des politischen Othering ebenso wie mit gängigen Schönheitsidealen. Ihre Subjektivität versteht sie dabei als zentrale Inspirationsquelle, um visuelle Codes des Mainstreams zu brechen, aber auch um die Idee der Universalität als modernes eurozentrisches Konzept zu verwerfen.

Die Illustratorin Tasnim Baghdadi lebt in Münster und experimentiert in ihren Arbeiten mit traditioneller visueller Kunst und mit zeitgenössischen Medien. Ihre Hauptinspirationsquelle ist Kulturgeschichte. Sie versteht Kunst als multidisziplinäres Zusammenspiel verschiedener Faktoren, die sie benutzt, um ihre hybride Identität als muslimische Künstlerin zu reklamieren.

 

Fachkontakt:
Zoha Aghamehdi
Gunda-Werner-Institut
E aghamehdi@boell.de