Azerbaijan: shrinking or lost spaces for opposition?

Azerbaijan: shrinking or lost spaces for opposition?

Political activities of the opposition, critical journalism and independent activism have no space in Azerbaijan. Many human rights defenders are arrested and their activities and funding options are lacking a legal basis.

Azerbaijan’s government continues to wage a vicious crackdown on critics and dissenting voices. The release of some wrongly-imprisoned human rights defenders, activists, and journalists in 2016 did not lead to a shift in the government’s punitive attitude towards independent activists and groups. According to Human Rights Watch Azerbaijani’s international partners have failed to demand human rights improvements, in contrast their financial funding of the Azerbaijani’s government, including the extractive industries, would increase, regardless of the precarious situation on human rights.

With guests from Azerbaijan and regional experts we want to discuss about the human rights situation, left options of democratization and the task of international institutions.

From June, 15. – July, 1. 2017 Heinrich Boell Foundation ist hosting the art project ”Drawing for Freedom”, the thematic focus of the exhibition is political prisoners in Azerbaijan. The discussion is followed by an excursion through the exhibition.

With

  • Anar Mammadli, former political prisoner, human rights activist, Baku
  • Gerald Knaus, European Stability Initiative (ESI)
  • Rebecca Vincent, Reporter Without Borders (RSF), UK Bureau
  • Berit Lindeman, Helsinki Committee, Norway

Moderation: Walter Kaufmann, head of Eastern and Southeastern Division of Heinrich Boell Foundation.

 

Information:
Katja Giebel
Eastern and Southeastern Division
Heinrich Boell Foundation
Email: giebel@boell.de
Tel: +49(0)3028534388

Azerbaijan: shrinking or lost spaces for opposition?

Azerbaijan: shrinking or lost spaces for opposition?

Politische Aktivitäten der Opposition, kritischer Journalismus und unabhängiger Aktivismus haben derzeit in Aserbaidschan keinen Platz. Viele Aktivist/innen, Menschenrechtler, Journalistinnen und Journalisten sind inhaftiert, ebenso wurde unabhängigen Gruppen die legale Grundlage ihrer Handlungs- und Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten genommen.

Die Aserbaidschanische Regierung hält an ihrer harten Linie gegenüber kritischen und andersdenkenden Stimmen fest. Die Freilassung einzelner politischer Gefangener in 2016 hat nicht zu einem Richtungswechsel seitens der Regierung gegenüber unabhängigen Aktivist/innen und Gruppen geführt. Nach Human Rights Watch haben Aserbaidschans internationale Partner dabei versagt, die Verbesserung der Menschenrechtslage einzufordern. Im Gegenteil würden internationale Institutionen ungeachtet der sich verschlechternden Menschenrechtslage ihre finanzielle Förderung der aserbaidschanischen Regierung noch ausbauen und insbesondere in die Rohstoffindustrie investieren.

Mit Gästen aus Aserbaidschan und Expert/innen zur Region wollen wir über die aktuelle Menschenrechtslage im Land diskutieren: Welche Demokratisierungsmöglichkeiten bestehen, welche Aufgabe haben internationale Institutionen?

In der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung ist vom 15. Juni bis zum 1. Juli 2017 das Kunstprojekt “Drawing for Freedom” zu sehen. Es fokussiert die Situation politischer Gefangener in Aserbaidschan. Das Projekt ist eine Kooperation der Norwegischen Menschenrechtsorganisation „Norwegian Helsinki Committee“ und der Kunsthochschule Oslo. Im Anschluss an die Diskussion gibt es einen Einführungsrundgang durch die Ausstellung.

Mit:

  • Anar Mammadli, ehemaliger politischer Gefangener, Menschenrechtsaktivist, Baku
  • Gerald Knaus, Europäische Stabilitätsinitiative (ESI)
  • Rebecca Vincent, Reporter ohne Grenzen (RSF), UK Büro
  • Berit Lindeman, Helsinki Committee, Norwegen

Moderation: Walter Kaufmann, Leiter des Ost- und Südosteuropareferats der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung.

Die Veranstaltung findet in englischer Sprache statt. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

 

Information:
Katja Giebel
Referat Ost- und Südosteuropa
Email: giebel@boell.de
Tel: +49 (0)30 28534 388