Online discussion Friday, 09. October 2020

Escalation in the War on Nagorno-Karabakh

Date, Time
Fri, 09. Oct 2020,
2:00 pm – 3:00 pm Save in my calendar
Address
➽ Online Event

Language
English
Organizer
Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung im Stiftungsverbund

The war over Nagorno-Karabakh broke out again. On September 27, 2020 clashes in the region re-erupted, but on the largest scale since the ceasefire in 1994. It was followed by state of war declarations from Azerbaijan and Armenia. This time, Turkey seems to be much more involved, more than ever before. After one weak hundreds of people have suffered injuries or died, but a de-escalation seems to be far away. This war has the potential to spill over into a much bigger conflict, with negative consequences beyond the South Caucasus. Why did the war break out now? What are the possible scenarios?  What role do Turkey and Russia play?

With

  • Dr. Stefan Meister, Head of office, South Caucasus Office, Heinrich Böll Foundation, Tbilisi
  • Dr. Laurence Broers, Caucasus Programme Director at Conciliation Resources, London
  • Ayça Ergun, Associate Professor, Middle East Technical University, Ankara

Chaired by: Walter Kaufmann, Head of department Eastern and South Eastern Europe, Heinrich Böll Foundation, Berlin

The discussion is held in English language. Please register above. 

Contact:
Katja Giebel
giebel@boell.de


Note: 

The technical requirements for participating in the event are a computer, tablet or smartphone with a speaker. Online events will be held using the Zoom software, which will provide a link for participating. The access link will be provided a day prior and 2 hrs prior to the event. 

On first using Zoom, this access link will initiate the download of the client software ("Zoom-launcher.exe"). This software must be executed or installed (recommended) on your computer. If you prefer not to download it, please click on the link "join via browser". Note: This option is only available for Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge. Please join the event a few minutes before its start time.

After registering for an event, our privacy policy applies. The Heinrich Böll Foundation is not liable for the Zoom software. The Zoom privacy policy is available here.

Online-Diskussion Freitag, 09. Oktober 2020

Eskalation im Krieg um Nagorny-Karabach

Datum, Uhrzeit
Fr., 09. Okt. 2020,
14.00 – 15.00 Uhr In meinem Kalender speichern
Adresse
▶ Online-Veranstaltung

Sprache
Englisch
Veranstalter/in
Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung im Stiftungsverbund

Der Krieg um Berg-Karabach ist erneut ausgebrochen. Am 27. September 2020 kam es zu den heftigsten Zusammenstößen in der Region seit dem Waffenstillstand von 1994, in Aserbaidschan und Armenien wurde der Kriegszustand ausgerufen.  In den aktuellen Konflikt  scheint die Türkei stärker involviert zu sein als in früheren Auseinandersetzungen. Bereits nach einer Woche häufen sich Meldungen über Hunderte Verletzte und Tote, aber eine Deeskalation scheint in weiter Ferne zu liegen. Dieser Krieg scheint das Potenzial zu haben, sich zu einem umfassenderen Konflikt mit unabsehbaren  Folgen über den Südkaukasus hinaus zu eskalieren. Warum ist der Krieg zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt ausgebrochen? Welche möglichen Szenarien zeichnen sich ab?  Welche Rolle spielen die Türkei und Russland?

  • Dr. Stefan Meister, Leiter Büro Südkaukasus, Heinrich Böll Stiftung, Tbilisi
  • Dr. Laurence Broers, Caucasus Programm Leiter Conciliation Resources, London
  • Ayça Ergun, Außerordentliche Professorin, Middle East Technical University, Ankara

Moderation: Walter Kaufmann, Referatsleiter Ost- und Südosteuropa, Heinrich Böll Stiftung, Berlin

Die Veranstaltung findet auf englisch statt. Um Anmeldung wird gebeten.

Kontakt:
Katja Giebel
E giebel@boell.de


Hinweis:

Für die Teilnahme an der Veranstaltung ist ein Computer, Tablet oder Handy mit Internetanschluss und Lautsprecher notwendig. Eine Aufnahme der Online-Veranstaltung ist untersagt. Die Online-Veranstaltung verwendet das Programm Zoom, welches den Zugangslink bereitstellt.

Den Zugangslink erhalten Sie 24 Stunden vor der Veranstaltung, und noch einmal zwei Stunden vor Veranstaltungsbeginn.

Der Zugangslink führt bei erstmaliger Zoom-Nutzung zum Download eines Client-Programms („Zoom-launcher.exe“), welches heruntergeladen und ausgeführt bzw. auf Ihrem PC installiert werden muss (empfohlen). Möchten Sie einen Download umgehen, klicken Sie auf den Link "Treten Sie mit Ihrem Browser bei". Hinweis: Diese Option funktioniert nur bei dem Browser Google Chrome oder Microsoft Edge.

Nach der Anmeldung zur Veranstaltung gelten unsere Datenschutzbestimmungen. Für die Verwendung der Software ZOOM übernimmt die Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung keine Haftung. Die geltenden Datenschutzrichtlinien von Zoom finden Sie hier