Abortion. Creator: Aleksandra Knežević. Creative Commons License LogoThis image is licensed under Creative Commons License.

Online discussion series

Tuesday, 24. May 2022 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm Save in my calendar

Online discussion series

(Re)framing Abortion

part of online discussion series (Re)framing Reproduction

Abortion is one of the most common gynaecological interventions used to terminate an unintended pregnancy. Restricting access to this health service does not reduce the number of abortions, it just makes them unsafe. On all continents there are countries where laws and stigmas make it difficult or even impossible for pregnant individuals to exercise reproductive autonomy and access safe abortion care. While the anti-choice movement is on the rise everywhere, leading to restrictive laws like those in Poland and Texas, we see sparks of hope in the successful feminist campaigns for the legalisation of abortion in Colombia, Argentina and South Korea.

In the third episode of our online discussion series on (Re)framing Reproduction we talk to activists and politicians from countries with (formerly) restrictive abortion laws on how they have been organising resistance and change.

Speakers:

 

  • Sandra Mazo, Causa Justa, Colombia
  • Adriana Lamackova, Center for Reproductive Rights, Switzerland
  • Karolina Więckiewicz, Abortion Dream Team, Poland

Moderator: Sham Jaff, a journalist and political scientist in Berlin. She writes the weekly newsletter 'what happened last week' on underreported news from Asia, Africa, and Latin America. Jaff is also the host of several podcasts such as '190220 – Ein Jahr nach Hanau', a Spotify Original podcast that was awarded the Grimme Online Award in 2021.

Timezone
CEST
Part of the series
(Re)framing Reproduction
Further dates of series
Tuesday, 07. June 2022
Tuesday, 21. June 2022
Tuesday, 05. July 2022
Address
➽ Online Event
Organizer
Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung: Feminism & Gender Democracy | Global Unit
Language
German
English
French
Spanish
Livestream
video Watch livestream

Abortion. Urheber/in: Aleksandra Knežević. Creative Commons License LogoDieses Bild steht unter einer Creative Commons License.

Online-Diskussionsreihe

Dienstag, 24. Mai 2022 14.00 – 15.30 Uhr In meinem Kalender speichern

Online-Diskussionsreihe

(Re)framing Schwangerschaftsabbruch

Der Schwangerschaftsabbruch ist einer der häufigsten gynäkologischen Eingriffe, um eine ungewollte Schwangerschaft zu beenden. Die Einschränkung des Zugangs zu dieser Gesundheitsdienstleistung führt nicht zu einer Verringerung der Zahl der Abtreibungen, sondern macht sie nur unsicherer. Auf allen Kontinenten gibt es Länder, in denen Gesetze und Stigmata schwangeren Menschen die Ausübung ihrer reproduktiven Autonomie und den Zugang zu einer sicheren Abtreibungsbehandlung erschweren oder sogar unmöglich machen. Während die Anti-Choice-Bewegung überall auf dem Vormarsch ist und zu restriktiven Gesetzen wie in Polen und Texas führt, stimmen die erfolgreichen feministischen Kampagnen für die Legalisierung von Schwangerschaftsabbrüchen in Kolumbien, Argentinien und Südkorea hoffnungsvoll.

In der dritten Folge unserer Online-Diskussionsreihe (Re)framing Reproduction sprechen wir mit Aktivist*innen und Politiker*innen aus Ländern mit (ehemals) restriktiven Abtreibungsgesetzen darüber, wie sie Widerstand und Veränderung organisiert haben.

Referent*innen:

  • Sandra Mazo, Causa Justa, Kolumbien

  • Adriana Lamackova, Center for Reproductive Rights, Schweiz

  • Karolina Więckiewicz, Abortion Dream Team, Polen

Moderiert vonSham Jaff ist Journalistin und Politikwissenschafterlin in Berlin. Sie schreibt den wöchentlichen Newsletter “what happened last week über unterrepräsentierte Nachrichten aus Asien, Afrika und Lateinamerika. Jaff hostet außerdem verschiedene Podcasts, wie zum Beispiel190220 – Ein Jahr nach Hanau”, ein Spotify Original podcast der mit dem Grimme Online Award 2021 ausgezeichnet wurde.

Zeitzone
CEST
Veranstaltungsreihe
(Re)framing Reproduction
Weitere Termine
Dienstag, 07. Juni 2022
Dienstag, 21. Juni 2022
Dienstag, 05. Juli 2022
Adresse
▶ Online-Veranstaltung
Veranstalter/in
Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung: Feminism & Gender Democracy | Global Unit
Sprache
Deutsch
Englisch
Französisch
Spanisch
Livestream
video Livestream aufrufen