Goldboro, Nova Scotia, Canada. Creator: Ken Summers. Creative Commons License LogoThis image is licensed under Creative Commons License.

Wednesday, 07. October 2020 16:00 – 17:30 Save in my calendar

Global/Transatlantic Interconnection:

Climate-damaging LNG production in Canada by means of German financial guarantees

Germany has now finally decided to phase out coal for 2038 - much too late, as climate activists criticise. At the same time, however, it is this delayed and inadequate coal phase-out that is being used as an opportunity to announce a new era of fossil gas. This is happening at a time when scientific evidence shows that fossil gas - especially extracted through the fracking technique - is contributing massively to global warming.Furthermore, it is now pretty clear that we have only 10 - 30 years at most to prevent the worst climate catastrophy.

Nevertheless, the German government is supporting the Russian Nord Stream 2 pipeline and at the same time it is promoting the construction of import terminals for fracked gas in northern Germany. In addition, the same government is providing loan guarantees for the expansion of gas infrastructure in the form of liquefied natural gas (LNG) terminals abroad, e.g. in Canada.

The Canadian company Pieridae Energy is planning to build the Goldboro LNG export terminal in Nova Scotia and has already signed in 2013 a 20-year supply contract with Uniper, a company involved in the Russian Nord Stream 2 pipeline and the Wilhelmshaven LNG terminal..

Apart from the fact that Pieridae will probably have to rely on fracked gas from Canada and the USA to feed the terminal with the contractually guaranteed quantities of gas, the project has been on rather shaky financial footing for 7 years now.

The Canadian investor desperately relies on a credit loan guarantee from the German government and has even engaged a subsidiary of the state-owned bank Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KfW) for lobbying the government.

This online seminar offers in particular Canadian activists  the opportunity to present local perspectives and regional impacts of the project to a larger international audience. In addition, the contributions should make clear that the financially highly risky project is dependent on fracked gas from the USA and Canada and, moreover, cannot be realized at all without German support in the form of a credit guarantee from the German government. The discussion will address, among other things, the question of whether the construction of new infrastructure for fossil fuels is compatible with a reduction in the use of fossil gas in the interests of the climate targets and what role the German Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KfW) plays in financing such projects.

With:

Andy Gheorghiu, Food and Water Action Europe

Regine Richter, Urgewald

Constantin Zerger, Deutsche Umwelthilfe e.V.

Activists from Nova Scotia - Canada

Moderator: Nadine Bethge, Deutsche Umwelthilfe e.V.

The event will be simultaneously interpreted for German and English speaking audiences.

4:00-5:30 pm CEST

10-11:30 am EDT

 

Registration is necessary.

Contact: Annette Kraus, kraus@boell.de
 

Please be advised that online events will be held using the software provided by Zoom. Depending on the type of event (that is, with or without audience participation), you may require a computer equipped with camera, speakers or headphones and / or a microphone in order to be able to take part.

You may either use the software client or the app. The internet browsers Chrome and Edge will enable you to participate simply via an access link. Further information on how to use Zoom is available here.

The access information will be sent to you via e-mail 24 h prior to the event and, again, 2 h prior to the event.

All events are subject to our privacy policy. The Heinrich Böll Foundation is not liable for issues arising from the use of Zoom software. The current Zoom privacy policy is available here.

 

Part of the series
Fueling the Fire
Address
➽ Online Event
Organizer
Heinrich Böll Foundation - Headquarter Berlin
Language
German
English

Mittwoch, 07. Oktober 2020

Globale/Transatlantische Verkettung:

Klimaschädliche LNG-Förderung in Kanada mithilfe deutscher Finanzgarantien

Goldboro, Nova Scotia, Canada. Urheber/in: Ken Summers. Creative Commons License LogoDieses Bild steht unter einer Creative Commons License.
Datum, Uhrzeit
Mi., 07. Okt. 2020,
16.00 – 17.30 Uhr In meinem Kalender speichern
Adresse
▶ Online-Veranstaltung

Sprache
Deutsch
Englisch
Veranstalter/in
Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung - Bundesstiftung Berlin
Veranstaltungsreihe
Fueling the Fire

Deutschland hat nun endlich den Kohleausstieg für 2038 beschlossen – viel zu spät, wie Klimaaktivist*innen kritisieren. Gleichzeitig wird jedoch genau dieser verspätete und unzulängliche Kohleausstieg dazu zum Anlass genommen, eine neue Ära des fossilen Gases zu verkünden. Dies passiert in einer Zeit, in der wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse belegen, dass Erdgas - insbesondere mittels der Fracking-Methode gewonnen - massiv zur globalen Erwärmung beiträgt und mittlerweile klar ist, dass wir nur noch maximal 10 - 30 Jahre haben, um die schlimmste Klimakatastrophe zu verhindern.

Dennoch unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung die russische Nord Stream 2 Pipeline und fördert gleichzeitig den Bau von Import-Terminals für Fracking-Gas-im Norden Deutschlands. Zudem sorgt dieselbe Bundesregierung durch Kreditgarantien für den Ausbau von Gasinfrastruktur in Form von Flüssigerdgasterminals (engl. LNG “Liquefied Natural Gas”) im Ausland, z.B. in Kanada.

Das kanadische Unternehmen Pieridae Energy möchte das LNG-Exportterminal Goldboro in Nova Scotia realisieren und hat in dem Zusammenhang bereits 2013 einen 20jährigen Liefervertrag mit dem an der russischen Pipeline Nord Stream 2 und dem LNG Terminal Wilhelmshaven beteiligten Unternehmen Uniper unterschrieben.

Abgesehen davon, dass Pieridae wahrscheinlich auf Fracking-Gas aus Kanada und den USA angewiesen sein wird, um das Terminal mit den vertraglich zugesicherten Mengen an Gas füttern zu können, steht das Projekt finanziell seit nunmehr 7 Jahren auf eher wackeligen Füßen.

Der kanadische Investor ist dringend auf eine Kreditabsicherung seitens der deutschen Bundesregierung angewiesen und hat für die Überzeugungsarbeit sogar eine Tochter der staatlichen Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau engagiert.

Dieses online-Seminar bietet vor allem den kanadischen Aktivist*innen die Gelegenheit, einem größeren internationalen Publikum lokale Perspektiven und regionale Auswirkungen des Projektes darzulegen. Darüber hinaus sollen die Beiträge verdeutlichen, dass das finanziell hoch riskante Projekt auf Fracking-Gas aus den USA und Kanada angewiesen ist und zudem ohne deutsche Unterstützung in Form einer Kreditgarantie seitens der Bundesregierung gar nicht verwirklicht werden kann. Die Diskussion wird u.a. die Frage aufgreifen, ob der Bau neuer Infrastruktur für fossile Energieträger mit einer Reduzierung der Erdgasnutzung im Sinne der Klimaziele vereinbar ist und welche Rolle die deutsche Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau bei der Finanzierung solcher Projekte spielt.

Mit:

Andy Gheorghiu, Food and Water Action Europe

Regine Richter, Urgewald

Constantin Zerger, Deutsche Umwelthilfe

Aktivist*innen aus Kanada

Moderation: Nadine Bethge, Deutsche Umwelthilfe

In deutscher und englischer Sprache mit Simultanübersetzung

Eine Anmeldung ist erforderlich.

Rückfragen an: Annette Kraus, kraus@boell.de
 

Wir weisen darauf hin, dass die Online-Veranstaltung im Programm Zoom stattfindet. Für die Teilnahme benötigen Sie je nach Veranstaltung (mit Beteiligung des Publikums) optional eine Kamera und/oder ein Mikrofon.

Sie können entweder das Client-Programm oder die App nutzen. Mit den Browsern Chrome und Edge können Sie direkt über den Zugangslink teilnehmen. Weitere Information zur Handhabung von Zoom finden Sie hier. Bitte achten Sie darauf, dass Sie die neueste Version von Zoom verwenden, damit Sie über die nötigen Einstellungen verfügen.

Die Zugangsdaten zur Online-Veranstaltung zu Zoom erhalten Sie 24 Stunden und erneut 2 Stunden vor der Veranstaltung per E-Mail.

Es gelten unsere Datenschutzbestimmungen. Für die Verwendung der Software Zoom übernimmt die Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung keine Haftung. Die geltenden Datenschutzrichtlinien von Zoom finden Sie hier.